Welsh FlagWelcome to the website of Aberystwyth Town Council.

Here is a little more about us...

Aberystwyth Town Council was formed after the re-organization of local Government in 1974.

In comparison with the former Borough Council, the current Town Council has greatly diminished powers and responsibilities, (see sections on what we can do and what we don't do), but still plays an important and valuable role in the day to day administration of the town and its affairs.

The Council comprises 19 Councillors who represent the five wards of Aberystwyth. There is a Mayor and Deputy Mayor. They are supported by two salaried employees: The Town Clerk: Mr Jim Griffiths and a Secretary to the Mayor / assistant administrator.

Fairtrade logoThe Council operates on a committee structure which report to Full Council.

Bullet PointThe Planning Committee meets on the first Monday of the month.
Bullet PointThe Finance and Establishment committee meets on the second Monday of the month.
Bullet PointThe General Purposes committee meets on the third Monday of the month.
Bullet PointThe Full Council meetings are held on the fourth Monday of the month (except August) at 6.30pm.

Contact Us